The Ouessant herds of sheep are back in Paris to maintain the slopes of the Paris ring-road!


An innovative French start-up which uses a system of “lawnmower” entirely ecological, GreenSheep, maintains the slopes of the Paris ring-road thanks to an eco-pastureland with Ouessant herds of sheep since September 2016.

An ecological method to maintain green areas
No need of a lawnmower! With the GreenSheep society, a little herd of sheep is enough to take care of the green areas boarding the Paris ring-road. The Ouessant sheep, the selected species, is rugged: it can easily be handled and can stay without problem outside all year long. The daily noise of the vehicles driving on the road doesn’t bother it either. However, GreenSheep gives a high priority to control the soil pollution. Before they make the enclosure ready, the start-up carries out analyses with the help of the toxicology laboratory LDHet-Oniris of Nantes (website in French), to check if there are any heavy metals in soils. Indeed, a great pastureland cannot be improvised.

eco-paturage-archives-paris-moutons-ouessant-2013-photographe-sophie-robichon-mairie-de-paris-green-hotels-paris-eiffel-trocadero-gavarni
Eco pastureland from the Paris National Archives, herds of black sheep, 19th arrondissement, April 3rd, 2013.
Photographer: Sophie Robichon/Mairie de Paris

A technic that respect the animal welfare
In order not to brutalize the small animals, the births are entirely autonomous, and the herdsmen give the new-borns a little adaptation period before they register them. To make sure the fences are well supported and to ensure the animal welfare, the enclosures are checked every week, at different days and hours. The sheep eats what is available, his faeces fertilize the soil, which gives back a sufficient quantity of food. Thanks to this technic, the herds of sheep act as a “lawnmower” and help to maintain the lawns and green areas in an ecological and economic way.

If this experimental project gets a positive result, this ecological management will be applied in other Parisian green areas. For further information, please visit the website GreenSheep.fr (in French).

moutons-brebis-noires-ouessant-eco-paturage-archives-paris-2013-photographe-sophie-robichon-mairie-de-paris-green-hotels-paris-eiffel-trocadero-gavarni
Eco pastureland from the Paris National Archives, herds of black sheep, 19th arrondissement, April 3rd, 2013.
Photographer: Sophie Robichon/Mairie de Paris

Webmaster
About me

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

moutons-d-ouessant-operation-ecomouton-2015-avenue-de-breteuil-green-hotels-paris-eiffel-trocadero-gavarni
Ecomouton: the eco-friendly economical lawn-mower
June 09, 2015
mouton-parc-des-archives-paris-eco-paturage-gavarni-hotel
Archives Park, Paris: sheep as lawn mowers!
March 11, 2013

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Les moutons d’Ouessant sont de retour à Paris pour entretenir les talus du périphérique !


GreenSheep, une start-up française innovante qui utilise un système de « tondeuse » entièrement écologique, entretient les talus du périphérique parisien grâce à un éco-pâturage avec des moutons d’Ouessant depuis septembre 2016.

Une méthode écologique pour l’entretien des espaces verts
Plus besoin de tondeuse à gazon ! Avec la société GreenSheep, un petit troupeau de moutons suffit à entretenir les espaces verts bordant le périphérique parisien. Le mouton d’Ouessant, l’espèce sélectionnée, est robuste : il peut être manipulé facilement et reste sans problème toute l’année dehors. Il n’est pas non plus dérangé par le bruit quotidien des véhicules circulant sur l’axe routier. En revanche, GreenSheep accorde une grande importance à contrôler la pollution des sols. Avant de préparer l’enclos, la start-up effectue des analyses en collaboration avec le laboratoire de toxicologie LDHet-Oniris de Nantes, afin de vérifier la présence ou non de métaux lourds. En effet, un bon terrain de pâturage ne s’improvise pas.

eco-paturage-archives-paris-moutons-ouessant-2013-photographe-sophie-robichon-mairie-de-paris-green-hotels-paris-eiffel-trocadero-gavarni
Eco-pâturage aux Archives de Paris, moutons brebis noires d’Ouessant, 19e arrondissement, 3 avril 2013.
© Photographe : Sophie Robichon/Mairie de Paris

Une technique qui respecte le bien-être des animaux
Afin de ne pas brusquer les bêtes, les naissances sont totalement autonomes, et les bergers laissent un certain temps d’adaptation aux nouveau-nés avant de les enregistrer. Pour veiller au bon maintien des grilles et pour s’assurer du bien-être des animaux, les enclos sont vérifiés chaque semaine, et ce à des jours et heures différentes. Le mouton mange ce dont il dispose, ses déchets fertilisent le sol, qui lui redonne ainsi une quantité suffisante d’aliments. Grâce à cette méthode, les moutons font office de « tondeuse » et permettent d’entretenir des pelouses ou espaces verts de manière écologique et économique.

Si ce terrain pilote obtient un résultat positif, d’autres zones seront concernées par cette gestion écologique des espaces verts parisiens. Pour plus d’informations, rendez-vous sur le site Internet GreenSheep.fr

moutons-brebis-noires-ouessant-eco-paturage-archives-paris-2013-photographe-sophie-robichon-mairie-de-paris-green-hotels-paris-eiffel-trocadero-gavarni
Eco-pâturage aux Archives de Paris, moutons brebis noires d’Ouessant, 19e arrondissement, 3 avril 2013.
© Photographe : Sophie Robichon/Mairie de Paris

Webmaster
About me

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

moutons-d-ouessant-operation-ecomouton-2015-avenue-de-breteuil-green-hotels-paris-eiffel-trocadero-gavarni
Ecomouton : la tondeuse écologique et économique
June 09, 2015
mouton-parc-des-archives-paris-eco-paturage-gavarni-hotel
Parc des Archives, Paris : des moutons à la place des tondeuses!
March 11, 2013

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *